Samsung SSD 950 Pro 512GB: Review

Support us by becoming a Patron!

Buy one now:

Today we’re taking a look at Samsung’s new blisteringly fast flagship SSD, the SSD 950 Pro 512GB.

GOT QUESTIONS? Ask us on our forum!

VIDEO INDEX

0:00 – Intro
0:16 – Last year
0:41 – We’ve been waiting
1:11 – Pricing/value table
1:26 – Under the hood
1:45 – Claimed speeds & specs
2:23 – Added layer of protection
2:45 – CrystalDisk Mark sequential benchmark
3:01 – CrystalDisk Mark 4K benchmark
3:14 – AS SSD sequential benchmark
3:25 – AS SSD 4K becnhmark
3:41 – AS SSD ISO benchmark
3:53 – AS SSD program copy benchmark
4:05 – AS SSD Game copy benchmark
4:23 – PCMark 7 Windows Defencder benchmark
4:34 – PCMark 7 Importing Pictures benchmark
4:43 – PCMark 7 Video editing benchmark
4:55 – High end power user suited
5:18 – Good value
6:25 – Better cooling
6:48 – Overall

KEY FEATURES

– V-NAND-based NVMe SSD
– Supports PCI Express® Gen 3 x4 lanes
– M.2 form factor
– Claimed speeds of 2,500 MB/s and 1,500 MB/s
– Dynamic Thermal Throttling Protection technology

PRODUCT LINK

FOLLOW ME IN THESE PLACES FOR UPDATES

Twitter –
Facebook –
Instagram –
Google Plus –

SUPPORT THE CHANNEL BY SHOPPING THROUGH OUR AMAZON LINKS:

— USA:

— CANADA:

— UK:

(I’d love it if you saved our link as your Amazon bookmark!)

Nguồn: https://pius-xii.com/

Xem thêm bài viết khác: https://pius-xii.com/cong-nghe/

22 Comments

  • Andy's Tech Time
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Way back when

  • rgray318
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    @Hardware Unboxed, do you guys know if anyone has an official statement on backwards compatibility with legacy BIOS for the 950 Pro please? It was said in 2015 that it would not work with BIOS mobos and that you had to have UEFI and an NVMe based Motherboard to boot from these. Yet the 950 Pro boots perfectly on my Asus Rampage II (x58), also on my Rampage III (x58), it also boots perfectly on my GA-X58A-UD3R (x58) and on many other old non-UEFI motherboards. All of which shows the 950 Pro in IDE mode within the BIOS boot screen, but all of them boot and Windows 10 loads the NVMe drivers just fine.

    Can someone on planet Earth please explain why these 950 Pro's work on old bios only systems please? I have now found dozens of instances where they are working on non UEFI, non NVMe boards, but not one official word from anyone anywhere on WHY that is? Please help explain this.

    Here is an image of a Asus Maximus II Formula (Intel P45 BIOS ONLY system) and it has a 950 Pro that boots perfectly. http://i.imgur.com/75mioOgl.jpg

  • Howie Rader
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Great vid…placed my order! Thanks!

  • Daniel Martinez
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    question: is this hard drive good for a gaming PC?

  • Dave Peeler
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Just to be clear… its Gigabit not Gigabytes/sec… huge difference.

  • ali tiger
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    How to cool down this 950 pro nvme ssd in a laptop , please reply ?

  • Mr. Gambini
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    I'm still torn if I should use this as a boot drive or as my main working/editing drive. Nice video though, thanks for the info.

  • MrDark21knight
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    you kinda harsh. im using trion 150 right now. $50 240GB

  • Broc Stefan
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    please include the system you use when doing benchmarks.

    I found you were using the Z97 extreme9 board from flipping the video upside down during a small portion of your video where the name of the Mobo was showing.

    Doing some research I found that the M.2 Ultra slot you were using utilizes a PCIe Gen3 x4 slot. This is something you should note for people because only about 5 motherboards offer this right now with modern cpu and ram architecture. Those who get boards other than those 5 would likely be stuck on PCIe Gen 2 which limits them to around 700MB/s read and write in real world performance as shown by the NCIX review of this item.. In the case of the 512GB version of this device that cuts the performance in half for both read and write, meaning they'd be better off just sticking with a normal SSD.

  • Kenyon B
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Bro if you don't know how to fake smile, just chill, don't try to force it, cuz it looks really awkward. Pause at 0:09

  • King ARkaMAni
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    nice info bro.. keep up the good work
    but the really nice music in the backg for most of the video are confusing for non english speakers like me
    just my opinion thx.

  • kiwibiwi
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    which is fastest, THIS one or the 951 ? Thanks

  • SmallBlackGuns
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Nice video. Straight to the point and easy to read graphs!

  • dedpxl
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    why read a script like that. it sounds so forced and fake. just talk to us. only a thousand views, why act like this is serious.

  • William Varga
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Dude your an aussie do aussie prices

  • LUCIANR81
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    dose it hase the rapid mode and magician software ?the test wose done on m.2 or on pcie ?i wont to install it on mini itx asus z97 with m.2 and wont to know the performance on m.2thanks !!!

  • mata-pombos
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Matt would you say the performance difference between this and a normal SATA III SSD is very noticible/worth the money for everyday use?

  • Ilias G1
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    That ending 😛 LOL

  • MrPvPKings
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Nice 🙂

  • Friday Little
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Good review Hardware Unboxed!

    One friend of mine decided to make a Build.

    Here are all the parts:

    1)Pc case:Raijintek Agos
    2)Gpu:R9 390(XFX, Msi or saphhire nitro)
    3)SSD:SAMSUNG EVO 250GB
    4)HDD:WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB SATA III
    5)Ram:Crucial 8Gb DDR4
    6)Mobo:gigabyte H110M DS2
    7)Cpu:i5 6500
    8)Psu: Seasonic S12II 620 WATTS
    9)Scythe Slip Stream 120mm 1600rpm (Case fans)

    Tell me your opinion.

  • Craig Petrobas
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Matt i have two upgrade options for my pc ill get, to get a 120 gb ssd or upgrade to 16gb ram, what should i get? Thanks

  • Craig Petrobas
    Posted July 5, 2020 1:45 am

    Wow im early

    Lolz

Leave a comment